

N E W S R E L E A S E

Tuesday, June 1, 2004 For Immediate Release

University of Winnipeg Spring Convocation: Honours Graduates and Award Recipients, Celebrates Installation of The Honourable Lloyd Axworthy, PC, OC, OM

WINNIPEG - Graduation is a time for celebrating outstanding achievements. On Sunday, June 6, 2004, The University of Winnipeg welcomes family, friends, and the public to honour the graduating class of the seventy-seventh convocation. The entire University community extends congratulations to the graduates as they join the more than 30,000 University of Winnipeg alumni around the world. Spring Convocation will also mark the official installation of the University's sixth President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Lloyd Axworthy.

Convocation will be held at The University of Winnipeg Duckworth Centre, Spence Street at Ellice Avenue.

Morning Convocation, 10:30 a.m.:

- Degrees will be conferred in Education and Science.
- Dr. Lloyd Axworthy, PC, BA, PhD, LLD, OC, OM (Class of 1961), will be installed as The University of Winnipeg's sixth President and Vice-Chancellor. Dr. Axworthy is a member of United College Class of 1961, former professor of Political Science and Director of the Institute of Urban Studies at The University of Winnipeg, a former federal minister, and a Nobel Prize nominee.

- Nolan J. Reilly, BA (Hons.), MA, PhD, Chair of the History Department at the University of Winnipeg, will be awarded the Marsha Hanen Award for Excellence in Creating Community Awareness. Reilly will be honoured for his many contributions, including educational tours on the subject of Winnipeg's General Strike, support of both local and national museum projects, volunteer work for local school and community groups, and leadership in junior athletics.
- Laura Sokal, B.Ed., M.Ed., PhD, Assistant Professor of Education, will be awarded The Clifford J. Robson Memorial Award for Excellence in Teaching. A gifted educator with a focus on inclusive and cooperative learning with a high standard of excellence, The University of Winnipeg presents Sokal with this award on behalf of her students.
- **Meghan Webb** (Class of 2004), will offer the Valedictorian Address to the graduands at the morning ceremony.
- Following the ceremony, a reception will be held on Spence Street (between Portage and Ellice), which will be closed to traffic for the day. All are welcome to attend.

Afternoon Convocation: 3:00 p.m.

- Degrees will be conferred in Theology and Arts.
- Keith Black, BA, BSW, MSW (Class of 1960), will receive an Honorary Doctor of Laws. Over a career spanning more than 40 years, Black was a social worker at the Children's Aid Society, Executive Director of Knowles School for Boys, and Director of the Child Guidance Clinic of Winnipeg. He was a valued member of The University of Winnipeg Board of Regents for 13 years and served as chair from 1996-98.
- Sterling Lyon, PC, BA, LLB, QC, OM (Class of 1948), former Premier of the Province of Manitoba, will receive the Distinguished Alumni Award. Over his career, Lyon also served as Attorney General, Premier, member of both Canada's Privy Council and the Manitoba Court of Appeal, and participated on The University of Winnipeg's Board of Regents from 1972 until 1976.
- Patrick Deane, BA (Hons.), MA, PhD, Vice-President (Academic) and Provost, will receive the Robin H. Farquhar Award for Excellence in Contributing to Self-Governance. From December 2002 until the arrival of Dr. Lloyd Axworthy, Deane served the University as Acting President. For duties performed in addition to his role as VP (Academic) in a time of transition and multiple crises, Deane will be presented with this award for exceptional service.

Spring Convocation Media Release ... con'td

- William F. Rannie, BA (Hons.), M.Sc., PhD, Professor of Geography, will also receive the Robin H. Farquhar Award for Excellence in Contributing to Self-Governance. Throughout a career of more than 30 years, Rannie has exemplified voluntarism at every level of University governance—Department, Faculty of Arts and Sciences, University, Senate, and Board of Regents.
- **Bridget Sweeney** (Class of 2004) will present the Valedictorian Address to the graduands at the afternoon ceremony.
- Following the ceremony, a reception will be held on Spence Street (between Portage and Ellice), which will be closed to traffic for the day. All are welcome to attend.

With more than 8,300 full- and part-time students, The University of Winnipeg is a compact, caring community committed to access and excellence in the arts and sciences. Offering over 400 courses in 40 subject areas from filmmaking to forensics, The University of Winnipeg is distinguished for the meaningful connections made between students and award-winning professors.

- 30 -

For further information, please contact:

Katherine Unruh, Director of Communications The University of Winnipeg t) 204.786.9872 c) 204.782.3279 e) k.unruh@uwinnipeg.ca

For maps of The University of Winnipeg campus and nearby public parking, visit: **www.uwinnipeg.ca:/web/faculty/maps.shtml**