

NEWSRELEASE

October 1, 2004 For Immediate Release

University of Winnipeg Fall Convocation Honours Graduates& Award Winners

WINNIPEG—Graduation is a busy time of celebration and reflection.

This year, in addition to the many graduation-related activities, the **Fall Convocation** weekend (Oct. 15-17) will be particularly eventful: featuring a reunion of the Classes of '76, '77, '78, '79, as well the University's first OmniTRAX/Broe Quest conference—Caught in the Crossfire: Global Citizens Making A Difference.

Open to the public and free of charge, Quest is an unprecedented opportunity to interact with individuals and organization around the world that have taken on the responsibility to find out what it means to be global citizens. Participants will meet educators, filmmakers, relief workers, students, and journalists and authors—including Ann Medina, Gwynne Dyer, Tony Burman, Patrick Martin, Nicholas Hirst, & Lloyd Axworthy. For a complete schedule of events, visit www.quest.uwinnipeg.ca

And at the heart of the weekend is The University's **seventy-eighth convocation**. Chancellor H. Sanford Riley, President & Vice-Chancellor Lloyd Axworthy, the Board of Regents, members of the University Senate, and the Alumni Association invite family, friends, and the public to honour the graduating class.

The University of Winnipeg's Fall Convocation takes place:

Sunday, October 17 at 2:00 p.m. Duckworth Centre (Spence at Ellice) The public is welcome to attend.

Sheldon Oberman (Class of '72) will receive the Distinguished Alumni Award posthumously, honouring his lifetime of excellence as both a teacher and an award-winning author.

Dawn Sutherland, Professor of Education, will receive the **Clarence Atchison Award for Community Service**. The Clarence Atchison Award for Community Service was established by Investors Group in honour of their former President and Vice-Chair Clarence E. Atchison. Together with an impressive record of business accomplishments, Dr. Atchison devoted many hours to community and social service in Winnipeg, serving on many boards and advisory councils. He was a long-time member of The University of Winnipeg Board of Regents, acting as Chair from 1968 to 1970. The award is given to a University faculty or staff member to recognize the contribution given of their time and expertise to service to the community.

Parvin Ghorayshi, Professor of Sociology, and Peter Ives, Professor of Politics, will each receive the Erica and Arnold Rogers Award for Excellence in Research and Scholarship. Erica and Arnold Rogers, friends of The University of Winnipeg, established the Erica and Arnold Rogers Award for Excellence in Research and Scholarship. Dr. Rogers was a medical doctor who, together with his wife Erica, valued the contribution by faculty members to research and scholarship. All members of the University faculty, many of whom have received national and international recognition for excellence in the research community, are eligible.

And as the formal conclusion to the University's OmniTRAX/Broe Quest conference, the first annual **University of Winnipeg Global Citizenship Award** will be presented at Fall Convocation. The new award will be given to an organization known for its humanitarian work in Canada and around the world. **The University of Winnipeg Global Citizenship Award** will be presented annually to an individual or group embodying the spirit and drive of a passionate, committed member of society that lives out the responsibilities of a global citizen.

-30-

For more information, please contact:

Katherine Unruh, Director of Communications The University of Winnipeg

Tel: 204.786.9872 Cel: 204.782.3279