

MEDIA RELEASE

Friday, October 7, 2005 For Immediate Release

University of Winnipeg Fall Convocation: Honours Graduates & Award Recipients, Confers HD on Madeleine Albright

WINNIPEG—Graduation is a time for celebrating outstanding achievements. The University of Winnipeg welcomes family, friends, and the public to honour the graduating class of the eightieth convocation. Chancellor H. Sanford Riley, President & Vice-Chancellor Lloyd Axworthy, the Board of Regents, University Senate, and Alumni Association extend congratulations to the graduates as they join the more than 30,000 University of Winnipeg alumni around the world.

Fall Convocation takes place 10:00 a.m. Sunday, October 16, 2005 at The University of Winnipeg Duckworth Centre (Spence Street at Ellice Avenue), with degrees being conferred in Arts, Science, Education, Theology, and the master's program in Marriage and Family Therapy.

A number of distinguished award winners will be honoured by The University of Winnipeg at this year's Fall Convocation:

Madeleine Korbel Albright, BA, MA, PhD former US Secretary of State, will be awarded an
Honorary Doctor of Laws by The University of Winnipeg for her contribution to international
study and global affairs. Albright, a member of the University's Global College International
Advisory Board and a renowned expert on foreign policy issues and global politics, will
address the graduands.

Albright served as the 64th secretary of state of the United States. In 1997, she was named the first woman secretary of state and became, to that time, the highest ranking woman in the history of the US government. As Secretary, Albright reinforced America's alliances, advocated democracy and human rights, and promoted American trade and business, labour, and environmental standards abroad.

Albright is the founder of The Albright Group LLC, a global strategy firm, and serves on the Board of Directors of the Council on Foreign Relations and the Board of Trustees for the Aspen Institute. From 1993 – 1997, Albright served as the United States Permanent Representative to the United Nations and as a member of the President's Cabinet. From 1989-1992, she was President of the Center for National Policy, a non-profit public policy organization based in Washington D.C. Albright's autobiography *Madam Secretary: A Memoir* was published in September, 2003. (*Complete biography attached*)

- **Raymond McFeetors**, **BA** President and CEO of Great-West Life Assurance Company, London Life, and Canada Life will receive The University of Winnipeg's Distinguished Alumni Award. McFeetors graduated from The University of Winnipeg in 1968 with his BA in Economics. Shortly after, he began his career at Great-West Life as a trainee in the Group Division—never imagining that he'd one day become President. Since 1992, McFeetors has been at the helm of one of Canada's leading life and health insurers. McFeetors is involved broadly in community causes and business affairs including serving as a member on the boards of CancerCare Manitoba, Investors Group Inc., MTS, Shaw Festival, and University of Western Ontario. As well, he is Honorary Colonel for the Royal Winnipeg Rifles.
- Scott Forbes, B.Sc., M.Sc., PhD and Ken McCluskey, BA (Hons.), MA, PhD are corecipients of the Erica and Arnold Rogers Award for Excellence in Research and Scholarship. Scott Forbes began his professional career in wildlife biology, and evolved gradually into a behavioural ecologist. His research into the family structures of animal-life, particularly birds, has significant applications for understanding human families. **Ken McCluskey** has over 25 years experience as a school psychologist, special educator, and administrator in the public school system, and is currently Dean of the Faculty of Education and Extended Learning. His primary areas of research are special education and the education of gifted and talented children. The Erica and Arnold Rogers Award for Excellence in Research and Scholarship was established by Erica and Arnold Rogers, friends of The University of Winnipeg. Dr. Rogers was a medical doctor who, together with his wife Erica, valued the contribution by faculty members to research and scholarship. All members of the University faculty, many of whom have received national and international recognition for excellence in the research community, are eligible.
- Tom Carter, BA, MA, PhD Canada Research Chair in Urban Change and Adaptation and Geography Professor will receive the Clarence Atchison Award for Excellence in Community Service. Carter, past Director of the Institute of Urban Studies, is an accomplished scholar and has been actively involved and lent his expertise to a myriad of community-based housing and inner-city revitalization groups, giving voice to the most disenfranchised of our society. The Clarence Atchison Award for Excellence in Community Service was established by Investors Group in honour of their former President and Vice-Chair Clarence E. Atchison. Together with an impressive record of business accomplishments, Atchison devoted many hours to community and social service in Winnipeg, serving on many boards and advisory councils. He was a long-time member of The University of Winnipeg Board of Regents, acting as Chair from 1968 to 1970. The award is given to a University faculty or staff member to recognize the contribution given of their time and expertise to service to the community.
- Erin Nicole Briscoe (Class of 2005) will give the Valedictory Address. Briscoe is graduating with a BA (4-year) majoring in Environmental Studies.

Located in the heart of downtown, The University of Winnipeg is a compact, diverse, multicultural academic community committed to access and excellence. Ranked by our graduates in Maclean's magazine University Graduate Survey (November 15, 2004) in the Top Ten of all Canadian universities when asked about their "Entire Educational Experience," UWinnipeg is home to more than 8,900 full- and part-time students.

- 30 -

For more information, please contact:

Katherine Unruh, Director of Communications or Ilana Simon, Communications Officer The University of Winnipeg T: 204.786.9872 C: 204.782.3279

k.unruh@uwinnipeg.ca

The University of Winnipeg T: 204.786.9930 i.simon@uwinnipeg.ca