Friday, May 27, 2005 For Immediate Release

University of Winnipeg Spring Convocation: Honours Graduates & Award Recipients, Confers HDs ON Dr. John Polanyi and Jim MacDonald

WINNIPEG - Graduation is a time for celebrating outstanding achievements. **On Sunday, June 5, 2005**, The University of Winnipeg welcomes family, friends, and the public to honour the graduating class of the seventy-ninth convocation. Chancellor H. Sanford Riley, President & Vice-Chancellor Lloyd Axworthy, the Board of Regents, University Senate, and Alumni Association extend congratulations to the graduates as they join the more than 30,000 University of Winnipeg alumni around the world.

Convocation takes place at The University of Winnipeg Duckworth Centre, Spence Street at Ellice Avenue. Two ceremonies will be held.

BACKGROUNDER:

MORNING CONVOCATION, 10:00 A.M.:

- Degrees will be conferred in Education and Science.
- **Dr. John Polanyi**, PC, CC, FRS, B.Sc., M.Sc., PhD will receive an Honorary Doctor of Science. Dr. Polanyi is one of Canada's preeminent scientists and Nobel Laureates and an outspoken advocate on peacekeeping and human rights issues. He is presently a faculty member in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Toronto. Dr. Polanyi is the recipient of many awards including the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1986, the Royal Medal of the Royal Society of London, and 30 honorary degrees from six countries.
- **Don Kerr,** B.Sc., M.Sc., PhD will be admitted as a Fellow of United College. Kerr, who retired in 2004 as Physics Professor after 35 years, has served The University of Winnipeg with great distinction in all areas for many years. He maintained an active research program that has received NSERC research funding continuously since 1969.
- **John Lehr,** BA, MA, PhD will be awarded The Clifford J. Robson Memorial Award for Excellence in Teaching. Each year, the Clifford J. Robson Award for Excellence in Teaching is presented to a faculty member who brings a special quality to the classroom—the ability to make a subject truly come alive. In the words of one of the many students who nominated Lehr for this prestigious award, "He is an excellent professor, but more than that, he is a fantastic teacher."

University of Winnipeg Spring Convocation 2005 ... cont'd

- Randy Kobes, B. Eng. (Physics), M.Sc., PhD, Chair of the Physics Department at The University of Winnipeg, will be awarded the Marsha Hanen Award for Excellence in Creating Community Awareness. Kobes founded the Manitoba chapter of *Let's Talk Science* which promotes scientific literacy. Each year, University of Winnipeg volunteer scientists visit classrooms, present interactive experiments, and raise awareness of science.
- **Erika Bock** (Class of 2005) will offer the Valedictory Address to the graduands at the morning ceremony.
- Following the ceremony, a reception will be held on Spence Street (between Portage and Ellice), which will be closed to traffic for the day. All are welcome to attend.

AFTERNOON CONVOCATION: 3:00 P.M.

- Degrees will be conferred in Theology and Arts.
- Jim MacDonald, B.Sc. (Collegiate Class of 1964) will receive an Honorary Doctor of Laws. MacDonald was the founder of The University of Winnipeg Collegiate Alumni Association in the 1970s, and served as its inaugural President for its first five years. He served on The University's Board of Regents for nine years, and is also a founding director and Vice-Chair of The University of Winnipeg Foundation. MacDonald continues to support the mission of The Collegiate, serving as Chair of the Foundation's Collegiate Appeal, an initiative within The University of Winnipeg's Capital Campaign.
- Shirley Render, BA, MA (Class of 1964) will receive the Distinguished Alumni Award. Render's diverse career has included that of aviation historian, pilot, politician & cabinet minister, author of two ground-breaking books (with a third underway), social worker, international public speaker, and one of the few women in the world who has flown an F-18—one of the world's top military aircraft. She has won many awards including the YM-YWCA Woman of Distinction and Governor General's Commemorative Medal for recognition of her public service in her community.
- **John Hofley**, BA, MA, PhD (Class of 1960) will be admitted as a Fellow of United College. Hofley began his career at UWinnipeg in 1971. In addition to teaching Sociology, Hofley served in a number of administrative posts, culminating in a term as Dean of Arts and Science. Hofley has strived to live out the University's mandate of both excellence *and* access. He is a strong supporter of College and University Bound (CUB) which encourages students who might not otherwise consider post-secondary education an option; helped establish the "forgiveness clause" for students who have a rocky start to university; and, implemented "conditional status" to allow high school students with marginal grades opportunities for university education.

University of Winnipeg Spring Convocation 2005 ... cont'd

- Michael McIntyre, BA, PhD will be awarded The Clifford J. Robson Memorial Award for Excellence in Teaching. McIntyre, a much loved Psychology Professor, is described by his students as a brilliant professor with a great passion for psychology, a storyteller of science, an exceptional teacher, a mentor, and a friend. The University of Winnipeg will be presenting the Robson Award on behalf of McIntyre's students.
- **Keith Louise Fulton**, BA, MA, PhD will be awarded the Robin H. Farquhar Award for Excellence in Contributing to Self-Governance. In addition to her role as an award-winning professor of English and Women's Studies, Fulton has served on numerous committees, tasked with such diverse efforts as curriculum strategy, the restructuring of the Faculty of Arts and Science, the review of pay equity, and Aboriginal initiatives, to name only a few. Fulton was nominated for the Clifford J. Robson Memorial Award for Excellence in Teaching three times, and was awarded this honour in 1999.
- Edna Whitcomb and Ida Margolis will receive Honorary Bachelor of Arts degrees in recognition of their participation in The University of Winnipeg's Division of Continuing Education 55 Plus Program for 20 years or more and their commitment to life-long learning.
- Margaret Carlyle (Class of 2005) will present the Valedictory Address to the graduands at the afternoon ceremony.
- Following the ceremony, a reception will be held on Spence Street (between Portage and Ellice), which will be closed to traffic for the day. All are welcome to attend.

Located in the heart of downtown, The University of Winnipeg is a compact, diverse, multicultural academic community committed to access and excellence. Ranked by our graduates in Maclean's magazine University Graduate Survey (November 15, 2004) in the Top Ten of all Canadian universities when asked about their "Entire Educational Experience," UWinnipeg is home to more than 8,700 full- and part-time students.

- 30 -

For more information, please contact:

Katherine Unruh, Director of Communications

The University of Winnipeg

T: 204.786.9872 C: 204.782.3279 Email: <u>k.unruh@uwinnipeg.ca</u>