The University of Winnipeg



2019 Autumn Convocation photo gallery

The campus was buzzing with excitement on Friday, October 18, as The University of Winnipeg community celebrated its 116th convocation.

UWinnipeg honoured outstanding students, faculty, and staff, including valedictorian Anna Evans-Boudreau, who talked about her non-linear path to university success, and the importance of individuals recognizing their unique strengths and abilities as they head into the next stage of their education and careers.

“Remember, your version of success does not have to be the same as the person sitting beside you. Your list of successes will only continue to grow from today, and you’re the one that gets to choose what that success looks like,” she said.

Faculty, staff, and alumni were also honoured during their ceremony:

Ian Burley was recognized with a Clifford J. Robson Memorial Award for Teaching Excellence; Danielle Nowosad received the Campus Sustainability Recognition Award; Dr. Joseph Nnadi was recognized as Professor Emeritus; Phyllis Webster received a Fellowship in United College; Ross Leckow received the Distinguished Alumni Award; and Drs. Chantal Fiola and Sharanpal Ruprai were given the Clarence Atchison Award for Excellence in Community Service. An honorary degree was bestowed upon Nobel Prize-winning astrophysicist, Dr. Arthur B. McDonald. 

View more photos of UWinnipeg’s Autumn Convocation, Convocation Awards Dinner, and PACE Convocation on Flickr.