The University of Winnipeg



2019 Carol Shields Writer-in-Residence Garry Thomas Morse

Garry Thomas Morse, photo supplied

Garry Thomas Morse, ©KC Adams

UWinnipeg is pleased to announce that poet, novelist, and editor Garry Thomas Morse is the 2019 Carol Shields Writer-in-Residence.

Originally from Canada’s west coast,  Morse now calls Winnipeg home. His work has twice been short-listed for the Governor-General’s Award for Poetry, and twice short-listed for the national Re-Lit Award for fiction. Morse’s poetry book Discovery Passages explores myth, history, and the injustice of the potlatch ban against his Kwakwaka’wakw Indigenous  ancestors. His recent poetry title, Prairie Harbour, traces multiple lines of his mixed ancestry, including the nomadic Wakashan speakers who were later to form various West Coast First Nations, and Jedidiah Morse, the “father of American geography.” Morse is also the author of The Chaos! Quincunx, a genre-busting speculative fiction series in three books.  

Morse serves as the Carol Shields Writer-in-Residence from February  4 – 15 and February 25 to March 8, 2019.  Members of the public, as well as students and other members of the University community, are encouraged to contact him at to book a free writing consultation. 

Garry Thomas Morse Events

Inaugural Reading
Wednesday, January 30, 2019 at 12:30 pm
Room 2M70, Manitoba Hall 
Coffee, tea and cookies will be served.

The Carol Shields Distinguished Lecture
Thursday, March 7, 2019 at 7:00 pm
Room 2M70, Manitoba Hall 
Refreshments will be served, cash bar.

The Carol Shields Writer-in-Residence Program at UWinnipeg was initially made possible by a generous donation from the Shields family. The program’s name honours the memory of Carol Shields, Pulitzer-prize winning novelist and Chancellor of the University of Winnipeg from 1996 to 2000. Shields was a generous mentor to emerging writers making this program a fitting tribute to her. 

UWinnipeg is proud and grateful to be celebrating 14-years of the residency. Past writers in this program include Margaret Sweatman, Sandra Birdsell, John Weier, Maria Campbell, David Bergen, Ivan Coyote, Debbie Paterson, Gregory Scofield, Chandra Mayor, Jennifer Still, Rick Chafe, Katherena Vermette, and Méira Cook

Media Contact