The University of Winnipeg



Alum David Bergen nominated for the Giller Prize

David Bergen, ©UWinnipeg

David Bergen, ©UWinnipeg

The UWinnipeg community would like to congratulate esteemed writer and alum David Bergen. He has been short-listed for the prestigious 2020 Scotiabank Giller Prize for his short story collection, Here The Dark.

The winner will be announced on CBC on November 9, 2020.

Bergen is no stranger to this prize. In 2005, he won for his novel The Time in Between, and was a finalist for two other books since, that includes The Matter with Morris, and Stranger.

“(David) is special because he is an artist. He doesn’t let a sentence go until he’s got it — he’s a beautiful stylist. He cares about language, he cares about character, he’s a true craftsman — a writer’s writer” – Dr. Neil Besner, Professor Emeritus

Bergen is an award-winning author of eight previous novels and a collection of short stories. His other acclaimed works include The Age of Hope which was a #1 bestseller and a finalist for Canada Reads; and The Matter with Morris isalso the winner of the Carol Shields Winnipeg Book Award and the Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction, and a finalist for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award; and The Age of Hope which was a #1 bestseller and a finalist for Canada Reads.

Bergen graduated from UWinnipeg in 1985 with a Bachelor of Education degree and in 2007 was given an Honorary Doctorate of Letters. He then returned to his alma mater in 2010 as the Carol Shields Writer in Residence.

Media Contact