The University of Winnipeg



Axworthy To Serve On International Advisory Board

Coalition For The International Criminal Court Appoints First Advisory Board To Offer Strategic Input On International Justice

AxworthyWEBWINNIPEG, MB – The Coalition for the International Criminal Court (CICC) has announced the establishment of a new Advisory Board which includes the appointment of Dr. Lloyd Axworthy, President and Vice-Chancellor, The University of Winnipeg and former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Canada. Former United Nations Secretary General and Nobel Laureate Kofi Annan will serve as the first Chair.

The Coalition for the International Criminal Court is the largest partnership in the world advancing the cause of international justice. Founded in 1995, it includes 2,500 organizations from150 countries around the world working in partnership to strengthen international cooperation, ensure that the International Criminal Court is fair, effective and independent, and to make justice universally accessible for victims of the gravest crimes in an effort to deter future atrocities and secure lasting peace.

The Coalition’s new Advisory Board is made up of a group of world leaders and eminent persons who will provide strategic input on key issues and act as a collective voice in support of the cause of international justice.

“It is an honour to serve with Mr. Annan and the other distinguished members of this new Advisory Board. The Coalition played an indispensable role in establishing the Court as the cornerstone of an international system of justice that promises a world where individuals responsible for the worst crimes known to humanity have no place to hide from the rule of law,” said Axworthy. “I look forward to the collective work ahead as we seek to maximize the Coalition’s ongoing efforts to support, protect and advance the Rome Statute and the important work of the Court.”

The CICC secretariat has two locations, in New York and The Hague, with regional coordinators based around the world. The Advisory Board will meet officially twice a year and engage at other times to discuss important developments as needed.

Members of the inaugural Advisory Board include:

The Honorable Kofi Annan, Chair
Former Secretary-General of the United Nations and Nobel Laureate

The Honorable Dr. Lloyd Axworthy
President and Vice-Chancellor, The University of Winnipeg
Former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Canada

The Honorable Justice Richard Goldstone
Former Chief Prosecutor, International Criminal Tribunals for Rwanda and the former Yugoslavia

Mr. Juan Mendez
Special Adviser on Crime Prevention at the ICC, Office of the Prosecutor and President Emeritus,
International Center for Transitional Justice

Ms. Sigrid Rausing
Publisher, Granta and Founder and Chair, The Sigrid Rausing Trust

H.E. Bruno Stagno Ugarte
Minister of Foreign Relations of Costa Rica

Ms. Darian Swig
President, Article 3 Advisors

H.R.H. Prince Zeid Ra’ad Al-Hussein
Ambassador of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan to the United States of America


Diane Poulin, Communications Officer, The University of Winnipeg
P: 204.988.7135, E: