The University of Winnipeg



Dedicated Faculty To Receive Prestigious Title of Emeritus and Fellowship

The University of Winnipeg honours four individuals who will receive the title of Emeritus/Emerita at the 2014 Spring Convocation.

Dr. Sohrab Abizadeh, Dr. Sandra Kirby, Dr. Kenneth Meadwell and Dr. Deborah Schnitzer will be conferred the prestigious title for their outstanding distinction in research, scholarship, professional service and teaching. UWinnipeg will also recognize Linwood DeLong with a Fellowship in United College, awarded for most distinguished service to The University of Winnipeg.

PROFESSORS EMERITUS (in alphabetical order)

Sohrab Abizadeh – Professor Emeritus

has served The University of Winnipeg with great distinction since joining the Department of Economics in 1983. The prolific researcher has published 45 peer-reviewed journal articles, 14 chapters and three books. A devoted teacher, Dr. Abizadeh has received UWinnipeg’s Clifford J. Robson Memorial Award for Excellence in Teaching, and was listed in the Popular Professors at UWinnipeg segment in the Maclean’s Guide to Canadian Universities. He has also served as the Department Chair of Economics (1987-1992), Associate Dean of Arts and Science (1992-1997), and as Director of the International Office (1998 -2000), earning him the Robin H. Farquhar Award for Excellence in Contributing to Self-Governance.

Sandra Kirby – Professor Emerita

Dr. Sandra Kirby is an accomplished teacher, researcher, scholar and administrator and a former Olympic rowing team member who has dedicated much of her career to eradicating sexual harassment and abuse, homophobia and violence against children in sport. Joining the Department of Sociology in 1989, she served as chair for nine years. In 2007 she was appointed UWinnipeg’s Associate Vice President, Research and Dean of Graduate Studies, playing an instrumental role in developing stand-alone graduate programs. Kirby is the author or co-author of ten books in addition to more than thirty book chapters, reports and refereed articles.

Kenneth Meadwell – Professor Emeritus

Dr. Kenneth Meadwell has served UWinnipeg with great distinction for more than three decades, including more than a decade as Department Chair. In 2009, he was awarded the Robin H. Farquhar Award for Excellence in Self-Governance. The internationally-known specialist in francophone Canadian literature has three books and extensive scholarly publications to his credit. Beloved by students of French studies, Meadwell was chosen as “Popular Prof” by Maclean’s magazine Guide to Canadian Universities for five consecutive years (2002 to 2006). In 2013, he was named Knight in the Order of Academic Palms of the Republic of France.

Deborah Schnitzer – Professor Emerita

Dr. Schnitzer’s distinguished record of research and scholarship has focused on art-based modes of representation involving multi-and interdisciplinary work. A legendary professor among her students and colleagues, Schnitzer’s interests in activism, scholarship, and course design led her to create The Institute for Literacy & Transformative Learning, and co-found UWinnipeg’s Experiential Learning Initiatives Network. The beloved teacher has received the 3M National Teaching Fellowship and UWinnipeg’s Clifford J. Robson Memorial Award for Excellence in Teaching, as well as several other awards for her film and writing endeavors.


Linwood DeLong

An accomplished scholar, researcher, and librarian, Dr. Linwood DeLong retires this year following a term as Acting Dean of the Library. Known for inspiring library staff at the early stages of their careers, Dr. DeLong also pursued his own scholarly research, which in addition to publishing peer-reviewed journal articles also included two book-length studies. In addition to his MA in Library Science, DeLong is also a competent translator who holds a PhD in 18th-Century German Literature. In 2012 DeLong undertook the task of cataloguing the newly-donated Eckhardt-Gramatté Library collection of rare music and art books, ensuring the wealth of knowledge contained within can be shared.

Click here for more information on UWinnipeg’s 2014 Spring Convocation.

Megan Benedictson, Communications Officer, The University of Winnipeg
P: 204.988.7129, E: