The University of Winnipeg



Dr. Christopher Wiebe elected fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry

Dr. Christopher Wiebe. ©UWinnipeg

Canada Research Chair and University of Winnipeg Professor, Dr. Christopher Wiebe, has been named a fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) for his outstanding contributions to the advancement of chemistry.

Wiebe, who joined UWinnipeg’s Department of Chemistry in 2009, is an international expert in solid state chemistry. His contributions toward the discovery and characterization of quantum materials have resulted in numerous accolades, including being a fellow of the Quantum Materials Division of CIFAR (Canadian Institute for Advanced Research) and a Leverhulme visiting professor at the University of Edinburgh. The materials made in his lab range from new superconductors to quantum magnets.

“I am honoured to have been elected to be a fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry,” said Wiebe. “I am grateful for the support of family, colleagues, post-docs, and students throughout the years, and I am also grateful for the RSC for this recognition.”

According to the organization’s website, achieving Royal Society of Chemistry fellow status in the chemical profession shows a high level of accomplishment as a professional chemist. Each fellow must have made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of the chemical sciences, or to the advancement of the chemical sciences as a profession, or have been distinguished in the management of a chemical sciences organization. The distinction requires acceptance and adherence to a specific code of conduct and an established set of high standards of ethical and professional behavior.

“The Royal Society of Chemistry is an old and very prestigious society of chemistry. Their fellowship is granted to chemists who have made a significant impact in the field of chemistry,” said Dr. Athar Ata, Chair of the Department of Chemistry. “Dr. Wiebe is doing an exceptional job in this area, publishing work in leading chemistry journals. We are very pleased to see his efforts recognized by the Royal Society of Chemistry and congratulate him on his achievements.”

The Royal Society of Chemistry, founded in 1841, is the world’s leading chemistry community for advancing excellence in the chemical sciences. With more than 54,000 members and a knowledge business that spans the globe, the group is the UK’s professional body for chemical scientists — a not-for-profit organization with 175 years of history and an international vision of the future that promotes, supports, and celebrates chemistry while working to shape the future of the chemical sciences to benefit both science and humanity. The names of newly elected Fellows are published annually in the The Times, London.


Jennifer Cox, Communications Officer, The University of Winnipeg
T: 204.988.7671 E: