The University of Winnipeg



Five DCE Students Earn Helen Betty Osborne Awards

WINNIPEG, MB – Five students from The University of Winnipeg’s Division of Continuing Education (DCE) have earned Helen Betty Osborne Awards that grant each of them $2,500. Robbin Ambrose, Marlene Davis, Lisa Lafreniere, Daniel Lynch and Grace Redhead-Clarke will be among the honoured recipients at an event on Tuesday, December 15, 2009 at the Delta Winnipeg.

Aboriginal Information & Communication Technologies Diploma
All five students are part of the Aboriginal Information & Communication Technologies Diploma that began in October 2009 by DCE and the Information and Communication Technologies Association of Manitoba (ICTAM). This program is designed by industry to close the techno-gap that currently exists in the province’s workforce. The intent is to build the overall capacity of the regional ICT sector and of the Aboriginal population.

High Demand for These Individuals
“Graduates from this program will hit the ground running,” said Erin Stewart, Dean of Continuing Education. “They will be highly trained and ready to work. There is a high demand for these individuals and they will have their choice of employment. We are very pleased that these students are being recognized, and grateful to HP Enterprise Services, the funders of this award.”

The Helen Betty Osborne Memorial Foundation provides awards to deserving Aboriginal post-secondary students to complete their chosen field of study through the provision of financial awards given each year to a number of applicants selected by an independent adjudication panel. The Foundation continually seeks to increase the fund through fundraising activities and donations.

Media Contact