The University of Winnipeg



Outstanding Students Receive Aboriginal Awards

More Than Thirty UWinnipeg Students Honoured By Business Council

WINNIPEG, MB – The University of Winnipeg offers sincere congratulations to thirty-three students from a wide-variety of disciplines who have received the Business Council of Manitoba Aboriginal Award for 2009/2010, which comes with a cash award of $3,000.

The Business Council’s Aboriginal post-secondary award program is in its ninth year. In partnership with the governments of Canada and Manitoba, it promotes educational opportunities so that Aboriginal youth may take full advantage of their potential.

Outstanding University of Winnipeg students who received a Business Council of Manitoba Aboriginal Award for 2009/2010 ward on Monday, November 16, 2009 are:

Meagan Alexander, Bachelor of Science
Heather Alexander, Bachelor of Science
Brielle Beaudin, Bachelor of Arts
Rosemary Bird, Aboriginal Language
Thomas Calder, Bachelor of Arts – Criminal Justice
Tasha Carriere-Spillett, Bachelor of Arts – Education
Angel Compton, Aboriginal Self Governance
Monique Desjarlais, Bachelor of Arts – Education
Grace Dumas, Bachelor of Arts
Tiffany Dupont, Bachelor of Science in Bio Chemistry
Joelle Eastman, Bachelor of Arts – Psychology
Marc Gatien, Criminal Justice/Admin. Studies
Robert Holt, Bachelor of Arts
Alana Jenkinson, Bachelor of Education
Leanna Jurkowski, Bachelor of Education
Richelle Kantor, Sociology/Criminal Justice
Jessica Kondracki, Bachelor of Education
Carrie Kosinski, Bachelor of Science – Biopsychology
Whitney Brooke Lynxleg, Aboriginal Self Governance
Kelsey Malcolm, Bachelor of Arts
Priscilla Maud, Aboriginal Self Governance
Brittany Maydaniuk, Aboriginal Governance
Aimée Menard, Bachelor of Science
Clifford Morrisseau, Aboriginal Self Governance
Rachel Neil, Bachelor of Education
Bryce O’Donnell, Bachelor of Science (Engineering)
Rachel Paradis, Kinesiology and Applied Health
Andrea Rose, Bachelor of Education
Chantel. St. Germaine, Educational Assistant Diploma
Jeremiah Sinclair, Bachelor of Science – Computer Science
Louise Spence, Bachelor of Education
Nicole Traverse, Bachelor of Arts
Kayleen Zimmerman, Bachelor of Education


Diane Poulin, Communications Officer, The University of Winnipeg
P: 204.988.7135, E: