The University of Winnipeg



Six outstanding faculty and staff to be honoured for their excellence at Convocation

Top row (left to right): Colin Russell, Lee Hong, and Dr. Kelly Gorkoff. Bottom row (left to right): Dr. Lisa Sinclair, Dr. Ken McCluskey, Dr. Brian Stevenson.

Top row (left to right): Colin Russell, Lee Hong, and Dr. Kelly Gorkoff. Bottom row (left to right): Dr. Lisa Sinclair, Dr. Ken McCluskey, Dr. Brian Stevenson.

The University of Winnipeg is proud to honour six outstanding faculty and staff members – Dr. Ken McCluskey, Dr. Brian Stevenson, Colin Russell, Dr. Kelly Gorkoff, Dr. Lisa Sinclair, and Lee Hong – during our 122nd Convocation on Monday, June 19 and Tuesday, June 20.

Dr. Ken McCluskey – Professor Emeritus

Dr. Ken McCluskey’s exceptional academic achievements have left an ineffaceable mark on UWinnipeg’s Faculty of Education. His impressive scholarship and creative intelligence have led to innovative programs that have improved learning for underserved and marginalized youth.

Known for his selfless and generous spirit, Dr. McCluskey has dedicated his career, through scholarship, to creating ways to uncover hidden abilities in individuals and reducing the psychological, situational, and institutional barriers that prevent them from achieving their full potential.

He has made a difference in many lives through his work to develop school and community programs, and his research in the areas of giftedness, ADHD, mentoring, and at-risk children and youth has significantly influenced researchers and practitioners.

Dr. Brian Stevenson
– Fellowship in United College 

Few have been as committed to academic excellence at UWinnipeg as Dr. Brian Stevenson.

Serving as UWinnipeg’s Provost and Vice-President, Academic from 2006 to 2010, Dr. Stevenson increased UWinnipeg’s presence locally, nationally, and globally. Leaning on expertise gained from several roles, he brought steady leadership to his post and imparted a vision that propelled the University to greater heights.

Among the many initiatives Dr. Stevenson led during his time at UWinnipeg was the establishment of the Faculty of Business and Economics. Dr. Stevenson fostered an environment of collaboration, which led to the creation of new graduate programs at the University. These new programs enabled Global College to become part of an international network of universities engaged in graduate Indigenous development studies.

Colin Russell – Robin H. Farquhar Award for Excellence in Contributing to Self-Governance

Colin Russell has made many valuable contributions to UWinnipeg’s self-governance in his 38 years on campus. As University Registrar, he is a deep well of institutional knowledge, providing leadership in Student Services and support to Senior Administration. He is also a frequent resource for those seeking guidance, and handles each request with grace

Russell serves on a dozen internal and external committees, where his respectful demeanor and balanced outlook are appreciated. He understands the student experience and brings this perspective to his committee work.

Russell is the voice of the University in more ways than one. A classically-trained vocalist, he sings the national anthem at Convocation and flawlessly pronounces thousands of students’ names as they cross the stage to accept their diploma.

Dr. Kelly Gorkoff
– Clifford J. Robson Memorial Award for Teaching Excellence

Dr. Kelly Gorkoff’s student-centered teaching style has earned her the recognition and esteem of students and colleagues.

As Chair and Associate Professor in the Department of Criminal Justice, Dr. Gorkoff’s scholarly interests include social theory, particularly critical political economy and feminist theory. Her research includes public inquiries, social determinants of homicide, systems of sex work, and community mobilization.

Her teaching excellence lies in her commitment in ensuring students discover and develop their intellectual potential. Her love of teaching is reflected in her teaching load. She often teaches above her required courses to help waitlisted students complete their degrees, which has resulted in a teaching record that is higher than the average professor.

Dr. Lisa Sinclair
– Erica and Arnold Rogers Award for Excellence in Research and Scholarship

Dr. Lisa Sinclair is a scholar, teacher, and mentor who has made considerable contributions to the understanding of human social behaviour.

As a social-cognitive psychologist, her innovative research helps society understand what often goes unstated or unexamined in social interactions. Dr. Sinclair’s main research focus is the psychology of stereotyping and prejudice – a topic that only grows more and more important with each passing year.

The impact of Dr. Sinclair’s scholarship goes beyond the traditional academic venues of her discipline. Her work has been cited in law journals and she has been asked to be an expert witness in court cases. Her work is also heavily cited in articles about workplaces, and in the popular press.

Lee Hong
– Stars of Spence Street Prize

For more than 20 years, Lee Hong has helped international students excel at UWinnipeg.

In her work as academic advisor with International, Immigrant, and Refugee Student Services (IIRSS), Hong is known for her calm, quiet demeanor and student-first attitude. While there are now three academic advisors in IIRSS, Hong was the only one for many years.

She has worked closely with incoming students from more than 70 countries, and her personalized advice makes students feel more confident in their studies and in their choice of UWinnipeg.

Hong’s dedication to student success is second to none. From visiting 15 Chinese cities in 20 days on a recruitment trip, to volunteering as an usher at Convocation, she’s consistently gone above and beyond throughout her career.

In recognition of exceptional service, achievement, and distinction, The University of Winnipeg presents a variety of awards to deserving members of the University and wider community at our Convocation ceremonies.  Learn more about our 122nd Convocation.

Media Contact