The University of Winnipeg



UWinnipeg Alumni Association calls for nominations

The University of Winnipeg Alumni Association is calling for nominations from the public for its annual naming of two Distinguished Alumni in 2014. Named at the Spring and Fall Convocations, the Award honours alumni of The University of Winnipeg who have achieved great distinction through their contributions to the University and/or the local or global community. Nominations are accepted from anyone throughout the year, and are considered for two consecutive years.

“Part of the alumni culture at The University of Winnipeg is to recognize and celebrate the achievements of our fellow alumni”, said UWinnipeg Alumni Association President, Vassan Aruljothi. “This award is a great inspiration for the current students and the new graduates as it is an example of where a UWinnipeg education can take a person.”

The 2013 Award winners were Michael Nuul Mayen, an advocate for new Canadians and co-founder of the Lost Boys and Girls of Sudan and founder of the African Students’ Association at UWinnipeg, and Stefano Grande, Executive Director of the Downtown Winnipeg BIZ.

Previous winners of the award include: former Foreign Affairs Minister and current President and Vice-Chancellor of The University of Winnipeg Lloyd Axworthy; former Premier Howard Pawley; film maker Guy Maddin; entertainer Fred Penner; journalist Lindor Reynolds and former Winnipeg Mayor Bill Norrie.

Nominations should include:

I.        A nomination form

II.        A letter of support stating the reasons for making the nomination and speaking to the nominee’s suitability for the award.

Distinguished Alumni nominations are due January 31, 2014.

For more information, click here, e-mail or call 204-988-7122.

For media inquiries, please contact:
Vassan Aruljothi, UWinnipeg Alumni Association President