The University of Winnipeg



UWinnipeg celebrates excellence

Clockwise: Danielle Nowosad, Sharanpal Ruprai, Ian Burley, Chantal Fiola, Phyllis Webster, Joseph Nnadi

Clockwise: Danielle Nowosad, Sharanpal Ruprai, Ian Burley, Chantal Fiola, Phyllis Webster, Joseph Nnadi, ©UWinnipeg

WINNIPEG, MB – The University of Winnipeg will acknowledge six outstanding members of the UWinnipeg community at the upcoming Autumn Convocation on Friday, October 18, 2019.

“The individuals we are honouring reflect our excellence in research and scholarship,” said Dr. Annette Trimbee, UWinnipeg President and Vice-Chancellor. “Their commitment to creating inclusive spaces in scholarly work in both the academic sphere and the wider community exemplifies our continued commitment to equity, diversity, and inclusion in all aspects of university life.” 

Ian Burley: Clifford J. Robson Memorial Award for Teaching Excellence
Despite the challenges that come with teaching a required first-year course to more than 200 students, Burley has a way of making long-lasting connections with his physics pupils. He furthers his students’ education through innovative methods of teaching, always being accessible outside of class, and helping them develop a passion for the subject of physics.

Drs. Chantal Fiola, Sharanpal Ruprai: Clarence Atchison Award for Excellence in Community Service Fiola and Ruprai are scholars who actively engage with marginalized communities. They co-chaired Two-Spirit (2S) and Queer and Trans People of Colour (QTPOC): A Call to Conversation with LGBTQ and Allies Conference (C2C), a historic international event hosted by UWinnipeg in 2017. Under their leadership, C2C was purposively structured to feature leading national and international scholars who are 2S— and LGBTQ and cisgender heterosexual allies. Their work has resulted in transformative contributions to the resurgence underway among local, national, and international Two-Spirit and QTPOC communities.

Danielle Nowosad: Campus Sustainability Recognition Award
Nowosad is described as a natural leader who actively encourages her peers to engage with environmental and sustainability issues. She is known for her dedication and passion as a researcher at the Churchill Northern Studies Centre (CNSC) in Manitoba, and among her colleagues and professors at UWinnipeg. As an environmental ambassador, Nowosad engages the public in regards to her research and issues that affect the environment.

Dr. Jospeh Nnadi: Professor Emeritus
Since his arrival at UWinnipeg in 1990, Nnadi has been an engaged member of the campus community. He retired as a Senior Scholar in 2012. Nnadi’s work is modern. He is informed by solid research and valuable insights from feminism and post-colonial literary theory. His passion for research is further reflected in his teaching, which has enriched the offerings to UWinnipeg students.

Phyllis Webster: Fellowship in United College
During her 21 years at The University of Winnipeg Collegiate, Webster left a mark that will last a lifetime. Using a wealth of experience obtained while teaching abroad, she mentored and inspired generations of students in her English and journalism classes. She is known for inspiring academic excellence and nurturing a joy of learning and discovery in her students.

Media Contact