The University of Winnipeg



UWinnipeg’s 8th Annual Student Film Festival Winners

WINNIPEG, MB – The University of Winnipeg’s 8th Annual Student Film Festival wrapped up Friday April 23, 2010 with the premiere of Cloud City, (a half-hour drama written by Matthew Kennedy and shot by senior filmmaking students from UWinnipeg, and special guest, experimental filmmaker Michael Maryniuk). Friday evening’s event also celebrated award-winning films and their makers.

The Festival screened 28 films selected from a field of 91 submissions over two days (April 21 & 22). Entries came from the University of Manitoba, Red River College, and UWinnipeg and on April 23 Panasonic hosted a workshop featuring their latest equipment.

The Festival’s reputation for entertaining, exciting, diverse and innovative films holds its ground for the eighth year in a row, with films ranging from documentaries and parodies to comedies and hard-hitting dramas.

This year’s Awards distinguished jury included Faye McIntyre – professor of filmmaking, Department of English, Film, and Theatre, University of Manitoba – Heidi Phillips, experimental filmmaker and Master of Fine Arts graduate of Transart Institute in Austria – and Adam Smoluk – a student of theatre at the British American Drama Academy and the youngest filmmaker ever selected to the National Screen Institute’s Features First Program.

The following filmmakers are the winners of The University of Winnipeg 2010 Student Film Festival:
Reiner Bello-Sanchez (UW), Best Editing for Chocolate

Mike O’Byrne (RRC), Best Cinematography for Music Video: Hundredfold (shared)

Joseph Pilapil (RRC), Best Cinematography for Music Video: Hundredfold (shared)

Sam Thomson (UW), Best Actor for Cold Brothers

Megan Sekiya (UW), Best Actress for Jane

Dylan Gyles (UW), Best Screenplay for Outer Space (shared)

Evan Petkau (UW), Best Screenplay for Outer Space (shared)

Sean Skene (UW), Best Director for 9er 9er

Dylan Gyles (UW), Best Film for Cold Brothers

Allison Norris (UW), Special Jury Prize for Jane

Conor Sweeney (UW), Audience Favourite for Cool Guys

The 9th Annual University of Winnipeg Student Film Festival is scheduled to run April 27-29, 2011. Full submission and festival information will be posted at after January 5, 2011.

John Kozak, Assistant Professor of Film, University of Winnipeg Dept. of Theatre and Film
T: 204.786.9951, E:

Patty Hawkins, Office Manager/Student Advisor, University of Winnipeg Dept. of Theatre and Film
T: 204.786.9955, E: