The University of Winnipeg



Wesmen Edged In Classic Final

University Championship
Alberta 64  Winnipeg 62
Kenneth Otieno (Alberta) 30 points – Player of the Game
Jelane Pryce (Winnipeg) 17 points

The University of Alberta Golden Bears won their fourth Wesmen Classic University Championship with a thrilling 64-62 victory over the Winnipeg Wesmen Tuesday night at the Duckworth Centre in Winnipeg. Alberta last won the Classic Championship back in 2002.

Game Boxscore

Tournament MVP Kenneth Otieno led the Golden Bears with a game high 30 points. Tournament All-Star Mamadou Gueye added 17 points and seven rebounds. Winnipeg was led by tournament all-stars Jelane Pryce and Travis Krahn with 17 and 13 points respectively.

After a slow opening period that saw Alberta lead 12-11, Winnipeg found their offense outscoring the Golden Bears 22-15 to take a 33-27 lead into the halftime break. Winnipeg struggled offensively in the third quarter scoring 10 points while Alberta put up 19 to carry a 46-43 lead into the final quarter. Alberta had the lead for a good portion of the quarter but Winnipeg made it interesting. Jordan Clennon drained a three pointer with one minute left to cut the Alberta lead to 61-60. Otieno on the next possession grabbed his own rebound and put back a basket to extend the Alberta lead to 63-60. Christopher Baxter’s layup with 14 seconds left brought the Wesmen to within one at 63-62. Otieno sank one of two free throws to close out scoring making the final score 64-62.

Tournament All-Stars
A.J. Basi – Manitoba
D.J. Jordan – Brandon
Jelane Pryce – Winnipeg
Mamadou Gueye – Alberta
Travis Krahn – Winnipeg

Tournament MVP
Kenneth Otieno – Alberta