The University of Winnipeg



A flurry of chemistry

Nikhita Arora, BSc (Hons), Biochemistry

Nikhita Arora, BSc (Hons), Biochemistry

UWinnipeg’s department of chemistry (Faculty of Science) has recently had a flurry of activity with students attending conferences.  During the spring + summer season 23 students (graduate and undergraduate) will have presented at five different conferences at the national and international levels and there are award winners among them.

“The University of Winnipeg continues to take pride in the quality of our students and the research opportunities that we offer to them,” expressed Dr. James Currie, Dean, Faculty of Science. “Publications and conference presentations are natural outcomes for students working with our Canada Research Chairs and other award-winning faculty.”

Iqra Tariq (supervisor Dr. Athar Ata, Professor of Chemistry ), presented at the Manitoba School Science Symposium and won the Gold Medal; the Adhir Bagchi Memorial Award for Excellence in Health Sciences (100$ and Plaque); Certificate and 100$ from The Manitoba Society of Medical Laboratory Technologies; and Outstanding Individual Biological Sciences Project at Intermediate Level (200$ and Plaque).

Shira Joudan (supervisor Dr. Charles Wong, Canada Research Chair in Environmental Toxicology)  won second place platform at Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry (Prairie Northern Chapter).

Nikhita Arora, BSc (Hons),  Biochemistry (supervisor Dr. Tabitha Wood, Associate Professor of Chemistry) won third place in the Canadian Society for Chemistry Division of Organic Chemistry Undergraduate Poster Competition.