The University of Winnipeg



Members of UWinnipeg community honoured with Order of Canada

Congratulations to Elder Ruth Christie, Harvey Lyon Secter, Bob Silver, and the Honourable Murray Sinclair

order of canada medal

On December 29, 2021, the Governor General of Canada announced 135 new appointments including four community leaders with UWinnipeg connections.

The University of Winnipeg congratulates all of the 2021 Order of Canada recipients including four individuals who have made a significant impact within the University of Winnipeg community. 

“These individuals are passionate leaders who have had a profound influence on our university community and beyond. The Order of Canada is one of our country’s highest civilian honours and this recognition is very well-deserved,” said Dr. James Currie, Interim President and Vice-Chancellor of The University of Winnipeg.

Elder Ruth Christie, CM, OM (LLM, 2019) was appointed as a member “for her contributions to Indigenous history in Manitoba, and her mentorship as a storyteller and knowledge keeper.” In 2019, The University of Winnipeg recognized Christie with an Honorary Doctor of Laws for her enduring commitment to sharing Indigenous history, for her support of Indigenous communities, and for mentoring scholars and young adults through her role as an Elder and historian.

Harvey Lyon Secter (LLM, 1999) was appointed as a member “for his leadership in business, law and academia, as well as his philanthropic contributions to initiatives in Manitoba.” In 1999, The University of Winnipeg recognized Secter with an Honorary Doctor of Laws. He is also a former Chair of UWinnipeg’s Board of Regents.

Robert Irwin Silver was appointed as a member for “his leadership as a businessperson, community builder and philanthropist.” Silver served as UWinnipeg’s Chancellor from 2009-2020. He has long been an enthusiastic supporter of the university, donating his time, energy and expertise. In 2018, his contributions to education and community were recognized with a Duff Roblin Award. He continues to show his commitment to the university as a UWinnipeg Foundation board member.

The Honourable Murray Sinclair (LLM, 2011) Indigenous advocate and former senator, was appointed as a companion for his commitment to the representation of Indigenous legal issues and his dedication to reconciliation. In 2011, The University of Winnipeg recognized Sinclair with an Honorary Doctor of Laws. He was honoured with a Duff Roblin Award in 2015.

Created in 1967, the Order of Canada recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. More than 7,000 people from all sectors of society have been invested into the Order. Those who bear the Order’s iconic snowflake insignia have changed our nation’s measure of success and, through the sum of their accomplishments, have helped us build a better Canada.