The University of Winnipeg



Student winners of The Randy Kobes Undergraduate Poster Session

2012 Student winners of The Randy Kobes Undergraduate Poster Session

2012 Student winners of The Randy Kobes Undergraduate Poster Session

WINNIPEG, MB – Congratulations to the student winners of the 7thannual Randy Kobes Undergraduate Poster Session (formerly called the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Poster Session) held September 19, 2012.

A total of 21 dedicated undergraduate students presented their research to judges in The Randy Kobes Atrium of the Richardson College for the Environment. Presenting posters is a privilege normally reserved for graduate students at other universities but an opportunity shared with the undergraduates at UWinnipeg.

Winners of the 2012 Randy Kobes Undergraduate Poster Session:

First Place – Bryson Dietz, Physics, “PET-MR Image Registration for Application in Stem Cell Therapy”

Second Place – Vanessa Palmer, Physics, “Ultra cold neutrons and the nuclear magnetic resonance of atoms ”

Third Place- Arzoo Sharma, Chemistry, “Multiferroic behavior of Ba3NbFe3Si2O14 (Barium Niobium Iron Silicon Oxide) and single crystal growth”

Honourable Mentions – Hilary Bews, Chemistry, Chris Loftson, Physics, Paul Sarte, Physics.

UWinnipeg’s Faculty of Science and Research Office are the sponsors.

The competition is open to all undergraduate students who performed natural science and engineering research at UWinnipeg under the supervision of a faculty member or with a faculty member sponsor; including summer projects and honours theses. The entries this year tackled everything from neutrinos to bats from Biology, Chemistry, Geography, Math, Physics, and Psychology.

“This event shows in a nutshell what University of Winnipeg is about. We have world-class researchers involving the students in their work directly, and training them to tackle problems of the next generation,” said James Currie, UWinnipeg’s Dean of Science. “This year’s contest featured wonderfully talented students who will be the scientists of the future.”

The late Randy Kobes, Associate Dean of Science at UWinnipeg, was an outstanding academic, physicist and educator of young people and founding member of the Manitoba chapter of Let’s Talk Science. He passed away in 2010.

Diane Poulin, Communications Officer, The University of Winnipeg
P: 204.988.7135, E: