The University of Winnipeg



Undergraduate research highlighted at annual symposium

The 14th annual Randy Kobes Undergraduate Research Symposium had 34 undergraduate students from across disciplines and departments presenting their research. The yearly poster contest displays high-quality research by undergraduate students at UWinnipeg. This competition is a valuable opportunity for students to obtain experience in presentations of scientific research, because much of the research presented will ultimately be published in leading scientific journals. 

“The posters showcase the breadth undergraduate research that goes on on in the Faculty of Science, from advances in medical imaging, to novel statistical techniques, to bioanthropology,” said Dr. Nora Casson, “The poster symposium is a great chance for students with diverse backgrounds and interests to share their hard work with each other, as well as other members of the university community.”

This year’s competition was broken down into four categories, math and theoretical sciences; biological sciences; experimental physical sciences; and social sciences. The winners are as follows:

Math & Theoretical Sciences

First place: Kiera Augusto“Analyzing Protein Mutations of NS5B in Relation to Lomibuvir and Radalbuvir”, supervisor: Dr. Joshua Hollett, chemistry
Second place: Colin Krawchuk“Resting State Network Classification using 3-Dimensional Convolutional Neural Networks”, supervisor: Dr. Christopher Henry, applied computer science
Third place: Huiqi Deng“Rescaling Bootstrap Methods for Imputed Survey Data”, supervisor: Dr. Zeinab Mashreghi, mathematics and statistics

Biological Sciences

First place: Shronn Goyal, Compost in the Fight against Infection”, supervisor: Dr. Paul Holloway and Dr. Athar Ata, chemistry
Second place: Breanna Meek, Raltegravir effectively reverses ERVK integrase-mediated pathology”, supervisor: Dr. Renee Douville, biology
Third place: Adhiraj Mukherjee, “One Man’s Compost Is Another Man’s Antibiotic”, supervisor: Dr. Paul Holloway and Dr. Athar Ata, chemistry

“Research has opened up my mind to think outside the box and it has taught me to never give up if results aren’t achieved on the first try,” noted Goyal. Mukherjee agrees. He said that research has given him the confidence to approach his academics with an open mind, which he contributes to his success.

Experimental Physical Sciences

First place: Uriah Wolf, “Phytochemical Investigation of Anacardium occidentale”, supervisor: Dr. Athar Ata, chemistry
Second place: Hannah Bloomfield“Structural Influences on the Function of Selenium Containing Compounds”, supervisor: Dr. Jamie Ritch, chemistry
Third place: Spencer Ferbers“Phytochemical Studies on Anarcadium occidentale and Calopogonium muconoides”, supervisor: Dr. Athar Ata, chemistry

Social Sciences

First place: Zenia Michno, “Assessing the use of cultigens by “Archaic Age” populations across Cuba”, supervisor: Dr. Yadira Chinique de Armas, bioanthropology
Second place: Rachael Galbraith, “Narratives of Delay: The Clinical Invisibility of Endometriosis”, supervisor: Dr. George Fulford, anthropology
Third place: Evan ForestSyntax vs Stereotype: Assessing Gendered Language Effects in ERPs”, supervisor: Dr. Amy Desroches, psychology

The poster contest has been named in memory of Professor Randy Kobes, Associate Dean of Science and Professor of Physics. Dr. Kobes’ untimely death on September 18, 2010 represents a great loss to the University of Winnipeg and to the world of science. A co-founder of the annual poster contest, Dr. Kobes was committed to research, especially with undergraduate students.

UWinnipeg would like to thank the following judges who volunteered their time: Janice Reyes*,  UWinnipeg Library; Kerrie Hayes, Research Contracts, University of Manitoba; Yvette Shang, Mitacs; Elliot King, Prairies Regional Office, NSERC; Nora Casson*,  geography; Yadira Chinique de Armas, anthropology; Gina Sylvestre*, geography; Joshua Hollett*, chemistry; Marianne Geisler*, biology; Blair Jamieson*, physics; Jennifer Cleary, Research Manitoba; Murray Alexander*, physics; Lara Arnason*, research and innovation; and Pam Delorme*, biology.

*UWinnipeg judges.

Media Contact