The University of Winnipeg



UWinnipeg’s chemistry department celebrates student achievements

President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Annette Trimbee with UWinnipeg chemistry students during the annual Student Awards Night/Photo supplied

The University of Winnipeg’s Department of Chemistry hosted their annual Student Awards Night on Tuesday, November 13.

The awards were presented by faculty members during an evening that celebrated the academic achievements of chemistry and biochemistry students. This year 26 scholarships were awarded at all levels of study.

The department was honoured to host Dr. Annette Trimbee, President and Vice-Chancellor, Shirley Payment, and Dr. Doug Goltz, Acting Dean of Science.

“Awards night brings faculty and students together with their families, and I am lucky to be part of a department that encourages their students to get involved with research,” said Brooke Richtik, recipient of the Molly Rogers & Leo Brickman Scholarship.

Here are some of the scholarships awarded during the evening:

The Chemistry Students’ Association Scholarship – Bianca Zinzombe

This scholarship is awarded to a student enrolled in the chemistry program who has completed at least 18 credit hours of chemistry at UWinnipeg and is involved in research or extracurricular activities within the faculty or community.

The Philipp Scholarship – Andrew Mayba

This scholarship celebrates the life of Klaus Philipp. Philipp devoted his life to chemistry and biochemistry with a passionate commitment to imparting that knowledge to his students. He spent more than 32 years as an instructor in the Department of Chemistry, retiring in 1999.

Mayba is a third-year student with the highest GPA of all students going into their fourth-year undergraduate studies program in biochemistry.

The Ingrid and Klaus Philipp Scholarship in Chemistry – Suraya Dhalla

Dhalla is a fourth-year honours chemistry major with the highest GPA in the best 18 credit hours in chemistry completed at UWinnipeg.

The Ingrid and Klaus Philipp Scholarship in Biochemistry – Harjot Sidhu

Sidhu is a fourth-year honours biochemistry major with the highest GPA average in the best 18 credit hours in chemistry completed at UWinnipeg.

The George Tomlinson Scholarship in Biochemistry – Emma Wolfe

This scholarship was established with a bequest from Professor George Tomlinson, an esteemed teacher and researcher in biochemistry and member of the chemistry department from 1974 to 2007.

Wolfe is a fourth-year honours biochemistry student who has completed courses in biochemistry, physical chemistry, and other senior-level chemistry courses.

The Molly Rogers Brickman & Leo Brickman Scholarship in Chemistry – Brooke Richtik

This scholarship is awarded to the most promising student entering their final year of the four-year chemistry program.