The University of Winnipeg



UWinnipeg’s YMCA-YWCA Women of Distinction

Three highly accomplished women who are part of the University of Winnipeg community were honoured with 2015 YMCA-YWCA Women of Distinction Awards on Wednesday, May 6.

The University of Winnipeg offers sincere congratulations to:

Dr. Anna Stokke – Community Activism & Social Enterprise

Dr. Stokke is an Associate Professor, Mathematics and Statistics at UWinnipeg. Her award recognizes her dedication to improving math education in Manitoba schools. Stokke played a lead role in Manitoba Education’s introduction of significant changes to the K-8 math curriculum in 2013.

Brenda Gorlick – Arts, Culture & Heritage

Gorlick is a UWinnipeg graduate, well-known triple-threat performer, and Contract Academic Staff Member with the Department of Theatre and Film in UWinnipeg’s Faculty of Arts. In addition to her many years of teaching at the University, Gorlick works with aspiring musical theatre performers in the StudioWorks Young Company, which rehearses at the Asper Centre for Theatre and Film.  Many graduates of that program go on to register at UWinnipeg and major in theatre and film.

Dr. Chander Gupta – The Eira “Babs” Friesen Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Gupta is known as a pioneer in performing Manitoba’s first tension-free vaginal tape (TVT) procedure, which has improved the quality of life for countless women suffering from stress incontinence. She was the driving force behind the provincial government allowing unrestricted funding for performance of the procedure for all Manitoba women who need it.

In June 2014, Dr. Daya Gupta and Dr. Chander Gupta, one of Manitoba’s top medical families, made a substantial donation to The University of Winnipeg to support high quality applied health research and scholarship inside the newly named Gupta Faculty of Kinesiology and Applied Health. It is the first faculty naming at UWinnipeg and a first among kinesiology and applied health schools across the country.